Government

Names:

conventional long form: none conventional short form: Anguilla

Digraph: AV

Type: dependent territory of the UK

Capital: The Valley

Administrative divisions: none (dependent territory of the UK)

Independence: none (dependent territory of the UK)

National holiday: Anguilla Day, 30 May

Constitution: Anguilla Constitutional Orders 1 April 1982; amended 1990

Legal system: based on English common law

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch:

chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952),represented by Governor Alan W. SHAVE (since 14 August 1992)head of government: Chief Minister Hubert HUGHES (since 16 March 1994)

cabinet: Executive Council; appointed by the governor from the elected members of the House of Assembly

Legislative branch: unicameral

House of Assembly: elections last held 16 March 1994 (next to be held March 1999); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (11 total, 7 elected) ANA 2, AUP 2, ADP 2, independent 1

Judicial branch: High Court

Political parties and leaders: Anguilla National Alliance (ANA); Anguilla United Party (AUP), Hubert HUGHES; Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP), Victor BANKS

Member of: CARICOM (observer), CDB, INTERPOL (subbureau)

Diplomatic representation in US: none (dependent territory of the UK)

US diplomatic representation: none (dependent territory of the UK)

Flag: two horizontal bands of white (top, almost triple width) and light blue with three orange dolphins in an interlocking circular design centered in the white band; a new flag may have been in use since 30 May 1990

Defense Forces

Note: defense is the responsibility of the UK